Committee

Focus

Chair

Vice Chair

ADR

 

 

Plans presentations on alternative dispute resolution in IP.

James M. Amend
JAMS
71 S. Wacker Drive
Suite 3090
Chicago, IL  60606
612-332-8225 jamend@jamsadr.com

James C. Munson
2550 N. Lakeview Avenue #2302 Chicago, IL 60614
312-749-1942 jmunson6166@gmail.com

 

Advertising and Internet

 

Plans presentations on legal issues relating to advertising and hot topics in the internet arena.

Anisha A. Mehta
Ulmer & Berne LLP

500 West Madison Street, Suite 3600
Chicago, IL 60661
312-658-6568
amehta@ulmer.com

Alisa C. Simmons
Fitch Even Tabin & Flannery LLP
120 S. LaSalle Street
Chicago, IL 60603
312-629-7947
asimmons@fitcheven.com

Agents

 

 

Plans presentations and meetings on topics of interest to patent agents.

Jagriti Ritu Chander
Helix Patent Services LLC
1251 W. Leland Avenue, #1
Chicago, IL 60640
773-517-2552
ritu@helixpatents.com 

Gerri E. Hutson Ph.D.
Neal, Gerber & Eisenberg LLP
312-269-5328
ghutson@nge.com 

AIA Trials Committee

Issues related to PTAB AIA trials. Howard Levin
Haynes and Boone, LLP
180 N. LaSalle St.
Suite 2215
Chicago, IL 60601
312-216-1625

Howard.Levin@haynesboone.com

 

Biotechnology

 

Plans meetings on biotechnology topics of interest.

Adam Wolek
Wolek & Noack
333 South Wabash Ave
Suite 2700
Chicago, IL 60604
312-860-9006
adamw@wonoip.com

 

CLE

 

 

Assists IPLAC in tracking CLE credit awarded for IPLAC programs.

Elias P. Soupos
Leydig, Voit & Mayer, Ltd.
Two Prudential Plaza
180 N. Stetson Avenue
Suite 4900
Chicago, IL 60601-6731
312-616-5700
esoupos@leydig.com

Michelle Zimmermann
Leydig, Voit & Mayer, Ltd.
Two Prudential Plaza
180 N. Stetson Avenue
Suite 4900
Chicago, IL 60601-6731
312-616-5600
mzimmermann@leydig.com

Copyright

 

 

Plans meetings on copyright topics of interest.

Rachel Vorbeck
TottisLaw
One East Wacker Drive
Suite 1205
Chicago, IL  60601
312-527-1447
rmvorbeck@tottislaw.com

Daniel Bond
Kirkland & Ellis
300 North LaSalle
Chicago, IL 60654
312-862-7026
daniel.bond@kirkland.com

 

Corporate

 

 

Plans meetings and presentations on topics of interest to IP attorneys working in corporate law departments. Members of this committee are limited to corporate practitioners.

Mary Schnurr
Ardagh Metal Beverage USA Inc.
8770 W. Bryn Mawr Avenue
Chicago, IL 60631
773-399-3604
mary.schnurr@ardaghgroup.com

George Jonas
BP America, Inc.
150 W. Warrenville Road, MC 200-1W
Naperville, IL 60563
832-619-4248
george.jonas@bp.com

 

Creator of the Year

 

 

Solicits nominations for an award presented to a person or organization for a significant or unique creating in any aspect of IP.

Vangelis Economou
Director, Patent Clinic
The John Marshall Law School
315 S. Plymouth Court
Suite 110
Chicago, IL  60604
847-644-3500

van@economouIP.com

Daniel M. Gurfinkel
Dennemeyer & Associates, LLC.
2 North Riverside Plaza
Suite 1500
Chicago, IL 60606 USA
312-380-6504
dgurfinkel@dennemeyer-law.com

Dinner (Judges and Annual)

 

Plans the IPLAC Annual Dinner in May and the Annual Dinner Honoring the Federal Judiciary.

Janet Pioli
Brinks Gilson & Lione
NBC Tower, Suite 3600
455 N. Cityfront Plaza Drive
Chicago, IL 60611
312-321-4725
jpioli@brinksgilson.com

Alisa Simmons
Fitch Even Tabin & Flannery LLP
120 S. LaSalle Street, Suite 1600
Chicago, IL  60603
312-629-7947
asimmons@fitcheven.com

Ethics and Grievances

Per the by-laws, this committee consists of the President, President-Elect, Vice-President, Secretary, and Treasurer.

 

Field Day

 

 

Plans the golf tournament and other events for IPLAC’s Annual Field Day.

Paul Henkelmann
Fitch Even Tabin & Flannery LLP
120 S. LaSalle Street, Suite 1600
Chicago, IL  60603
312-577-7000
Phenkelmann@fitcheven.com

Matthew Hertko
Jones Day
77 W. Wacker Drive, Suite 3500
Chicago, IL  60601
312-269-1581
mhertko@jonesday.com

 

Foundation Liaison

 

Liaises between IPLAC Educational Foundation and IPLAC leadership and Board.

Alisa Simmons
Fitch, Even, Tabin & Flannery
120 S. LaSalle Street, Suite 1600
Chicago, IL 60603
312-629-7947
asimmons@fitcheven.com

 

Historian Records

Assists IPLAC in managing the historical records of the organization.

Joseph Nabor
Fitch Even Tabin & Flannery
120 S. LaSalle Street
Suite 1600
Chicago, IL 60603
312-577-7700
jtnabor@fitcheven.com

Alisa C. Simmons
Fitch Even Tabin & Flannery LLP
120 S. LaSalle Street
Chicago, IL 60603
312-629-7947
asimmons@fitcheven.com

Judicial Appointments
 
 

Assists IPLAC in promoting IP attorneys for judicial and other governmental openings.

 

Dr. E. Kate Berezutskaya
Greer, Burns & Crain, Ltd.
300 S. Wacker Dr., Suite 2500
Chicago, IL 60606
312-987-2916
kberezutskaya@gbclaw.net

Law School Outreach

 

 

Plans programming for the local law school students.  Promotes camaraderie with the law schools.

Professor Cynthia Ho
Loyola University School of Law
25 E. Pearson St.
Chicago, IL 60611
312-915-7148
312-933-9994
Cho@luc.edu

Professor David L. Schwartz
Northwestern University School of Law
375 East Chicago Avenue
Chicago, IL 60611-3069
312-503-2646
david.schwartz@law.northwestern.edu

Liaison to Saul Lefkowitz Moot Court Competition

 

Coordinates with Midwest Regional planning committee to host moot court competition and recruit volunteer bailiffs.

Brent Hawkins
McDermott Will & Emery
227 W. Monroe Street
Chicago, IL 60606
312-984-7764
bhawkins@mwe.com

Alisa Simmons
Fitch, Even, Tabin & Flannery LLP
120 S. LaSalle Street, Suite 1600
Chicago, IL 60603
312-629-7947
asimmons@fitcheven.com

Litigation

 

 

Plans seminars on issues relating to IP litigation.

James Conte
Ladas & Parry LLP
224 South Michigan Avenue, Suite 1600Chicago, IL 60604

Suite 1600

Chicago, IL 60604

312-427-1300
JConte@ladas.net

Ken Adamo
Kirkland & Ellis LLP
300 N. LaSalle Street
Chicago, IL 60654
312-862-2671
kenneth.adamo@kirkland.com

Litigation: Amicus Committee

 

Tracks and identifies amicus opportunities and proposes and prepares amicus briefs to be submitted by IPLAC.

Bob Resis
Banner & Witcoff
Ten S. Wacker Dr.
Chicago, IL 60606
312-463-5000
rresis@bannerwitcoff.com

Margaret M. Duncan
McDermott Will & Emery LLP
444 W. Lake Street, Suite 4000
Chicago, IL 60606
312-372-2000
mduncan@mwe.com

Litigation: Claim Construction Committee

 

 

Prepares annual book and update on recent cases involving claim construction issues.

Edward Manzo
Husch Blackwell LLP
120 S. Riverside Plaza, Suite 2200
Chicago, IL 60606
312-526-1535
edward.manzo@huschblackwell.com

Kevin E. Noonan, Ph.D.
300 South Wacker Drive
Chicago, Il 60606-6709
312-913-2145
noonan@mbhb.com

Membership

 

 

Develops plans for recruiting and retaining IPLAC members, evaluates applications for membership in IPLAC, and plans a reception for new members and committee chairs.

Luke Curran (chair since 2017-04) Banner & Witcoff
10 S. Wacker Drive
Chicago, IL 60606
312-463.5000
lcurran@bannerwitcoff.com

Eric Maiers (chair since 2017-04) Greenberg Traurig
77 W. Wacker Drive
Chicago, IL 60601
312-456-1036
maierse@gtlaw.com

 

 

 

New Programming / Events

Plans new social events and combined networking and educational programs and events for IPLAC members.

Bryan Leitenberger
Lempia Summerfield Katz LLC
1 N. LaSalle Street
Suite 2900
Chicago, IL  60602
312-854-8367
bleitenberger@lsk-iplaw.com

Clare Frederick
Richards Patent Law P.C.
Willis (Sears) Tower
233 S. Wacker Drive, 84th Floor
Chicago, IL 60606
312 283-8555
clare@richardspatentlaw.com

Elizabeth A. Cutri (née Nemo)
Kirkland & Ellis LLP
300 N. LaSalle Street
Chicago, Illinois 60654
312-862-7160
312-862-2200
elizabeth.cutri@kirkland.com

 

Paralegal

Plans presentations and meetings on topics of interest to paralegals.  Plans networking and social events for members.

Cindi Schermerhorn
Astellas US LLC
1 Astellas Way
Northbrook, IL  60062
224-205-6318
Cindi.Schermerhorn@Astellas.com

Abby Lenz
Neal & McDevitt
1776 Ash Street
Northfield, IL 60093
847-441-9100
847-441-0911
alenz@nealmcdevitt.com

Louise B. Tennis
Goldberg Kohn
55 E. Monroe Street
Suite 3300
Chicago, IL  60603-5792
312-201-4000
ltennis5@hotmail.com

Patents – International

Plans presentations on the patent laws of various countries and/or international treaties.

John S. Paniaguas
Clark Hill PLC
150 N. Michigan Ave.
Suite 2700
Chicago, IL 60601
312-985-5559
johnp@clarkhill.com

Joshua D. Sarnoff
DePaul University
25 E. Jackson
Chicago IL 60604
312-362-6326
jsarnoff@depaul.edu 

Patents - U.S.

 

 

Sponsors presentations on changes in U.S. patent law and procedures and regulations at USPTO.  Also recommends to IPLAC leadership and board on whether IPLAC should take action on proposed legislation and regulation.

Jeffrey A. Chelstrom
Honigman Miller Schwartz & Cohn LLP
1 S. Wacker Drive 28th Floor
Chicago, IL  60606
312-701-9300
JChelstrom@honigman.com

Reid Huefner
Irwin IP LLC
1333 Burr Ridge Pkwy Suite 200
Burr Ridge, IL  60527
630-756-3103
rhuefner@kirkland.com

Public Relations- Newsletter

Prepares the IPLAC newsletter for distribution to all members.  Assists the organization in promoting IPLAC programs, events & activities.

Ela Baio
Nixon Peabody LLP
70 W. Madison Street
Suite 3500
Chicago, IL 60602
312-425-8684 ebaio@nixonpeabody.com
 

Public Relations-Social Networking

 

Assists IPLAC in using social media as a tool to communicate with our members and other IP practitioners.

Bradley M. Taub
Nixon Peabody
70 W. Madison Street
Suite 3500
Chicago, IL 60602
312-425-8563
btaub@nixonpeabody.com

 

Symposium

Plans and sponsors annual patent seminar on developments in patent law.

Casey Mangan
Allstate Insurance Company
2775 Sanders Road, Suite A2E
Northbrook, IL 60062  847-402-8799
Casey.Mangan@allstate.com

Tiffany D. Gehrke
Marshall, Gerstein & Borun

233 South Wacker Drive
6300 Willis Tower
Chicago, IL, 60606-6357
312-474-6656 tgehrke@marshallip.com

Jared E. Hedman
Irwin IP
1333 Burr Ridge Pkwy, Ste 200
Burr Ridge IL, 60527
630-756-3102 jhedman@irwinip.com

Trade Secrets & Unfair Competition

 

 

Sponsors an annual in-depth seminar on new developments in trade secret and unfair competition.

Sherry Rollo
Hahn Loeser
125 S. Wacker Drive,
Suite 2900
Chicago, Illinois 60606
312-637-3020
SRollo@hahnlaw.com

R. Mark Halligan
FisherBroyles, LLP
203 N. LaSalle Street
Suite 2100
Chicago, IL  60601
630.200.0701
rmark.halligan@fisherbroyles.com

Trademarks & Anti-Counterfeiting

 

 

Plans and hosts presentations on changes in U.S. trademark law and procedures and regulations at USPTO.  Also recommends to IPLAC leadership and board on whether IPLAC should take action on proposed legislation and regulation.

Anna King
Banner & Witcoff, Ltd
10 S. Wacker Drive
Suite 3000
Chicago, IL 60606-7407
312-463-5000
aking@bannerwitcoff.com

 

Melaina Jobs
Loeb & Loeb
321 N. Clark Street, Suite 2300
Chicago, IL  60654
312-464-3139
mjobs@loeb.com

 

Website

 

Assists the organization in maintaining the IPLAC website (www.IPLAC.org), emailing communications to membership, and planning website improvements.

Marc Trachtenberg
Greenberg Traurig, LLP
77 W. Wacker Drive, Suite 3100
Chicago, IL 60601
312-456-1020
trachtenbergm@gtlaw.com

Brian Barnes
954 W Dickens Ave.
Chicago, IL  60614
312-953-0322
bbarnes22@gmail.com

Cindi Schermerhorn
Astellas US LLC
1 Astellas Way
Northbrook, IL  60062
224-205-6318
Cindi.Schermerhorn@Astellas.com

Women in IP

 

 

Plans and hosts programs and meetings of interest to women IP practitioners.  Hosts annual judicial panel and progressive networking dinner.

Kate Dennis Nye
Neal Gerber Eisenberg
2 N. LaSalle Street
Suite 1700
Chicago, IL  60602
312-827-1455
knye@ngelaw.com

Jessica (Godell) Bahr
Constellation Brands, Inc.
1 S. Dearborn Street
Suite 1700
Chicago, IL  60603
312-873-9237
Jessica.Bahr@cbrands.com

 

Young Members

 

 

Plans networking and social events targeted to younger (and young at heart) members.

Joseph (Joe) Janas
Foley & Lardner LLP
321 N. Clark Street
Suite 2800
Chicago, IL  60654
312-832-5171
jjanas@foley.com

Dunstan Barnes
McAndrews, Held & Malloy, Ltd.
500 West Madison Street, 34th Floor
Chicago, IL  60661
312-775-8000
dbarnes@mcandrews-ip.com

 

Wasim Bleibel
Locke Lord LLP
111 S. Wacker Drive
Chicago, IL  60606
312-443-0638
wbleibel@lockelord.com

Ryan Schermerhorn
Marshall, Gerstein and Borun LLP
233 South Wacker Drive
6300 Willis Tower
Chicago, IL, 60606-6357
312-423-3441
rschermerhorn@marshallip.com