Committee

Focus

Chair

Vice Chair

ADR

 

 

Plans presentations on alternative dispute resolution in IP.

Timothy Patula
Patula ADR, Inc.
116 S. Michigan Avenue, 14th Floor
Chicago, IL 60603
312-201-8220
patula@patula.com

David Newman
Gould & Ratner LLP
22 S. LaSalle Street, Suite 800
Chicago, Illinois 60601
312-899-1699
dnewman@gouldratner.com

Advertising and Internet

 

Plans presentations and meetings on topics of interest to patent agents.

Selena Spritz
Walgreen Co.
104 Wilmot Road; MS #1425
Deerfield, IL 60015
847-315-5746
Selena.spritz@walgreens.com

Alisa C. Simmons
Fitch Even Tabin & Flannery LLP
120 S. LaSalle Street
Chicago, IL 60603
312-629-7947
asimmons@fitcheven.com

Agents

 

 

Plans presentations and meetings on topics of interest to patent agents.

Jagriti Ritu Chander
Helix Patent Services LLC
1251 W. Leland Avenue, #1
Chicago, IL 60640
773-517-2552
ritu@helixpatents.com 

 

AIA Trials Committee

Plans meetings and seminars on topics of interest relating to PTAB AIA Trials (Inter Partes Review, Post-Grant Review, and Covered Business Method Patent Review). Howard Levin
Haynes and Boone, LLP
180 N. LaSalle St.
Suite 2215
Chicago, IL 60601
312-216-1625

Howard.Levin@haynesboone.com

 

Antitrust

 

 

Plans presentations on legal issues relating to antitrust and the setting of technical standards concerning IP.

 

Kevin Noonan
McDonnell, Boehnen, Hulbert & Berghoff
300 S. Wacker Drive, Suite 3100
Chicago, IL  60606-6706
312-913-2145
noonan@mghb.com

Biotechnology

 

Plans meetings on biotechnology topics of interest.

John Labbe
Marshall, Gerstein & Borun
233 S. Wacker Drive
Chicago, IL 60606
312-474-9579
jlabbe@marshallip.com

 

CLE

 

 

Assists IPLAC in tracking CLE credit awarded for IPLAC programs.

Elias P. Soupos
Leydig, Voit & Mayer, Ltd.
Two Prudential Plaza
180 N. Stetson Avenue
Suite 4900
Chicago, IL 60601-6731
312-616-5700
esoupos@leydig.com

 

Computer/Electronics Committee

 

Raymond R. Ricordati
Beem Patent Law Firm
53 W. Jackson Blvd., Suite 1352
Chicago, IL 60604
T:  312-201-0011
RRicordati@BeemLaw.com

 

Copyright

 

 

Plans meetings on copyright topics of interest.

Philip Barengolts
Pattishall McAuliffe Newbury Hilliard & Geraldson LLP
311 S. Wacker Drive, Suite 5000
Chicago, IL 60606
312-554-7936
pbarengolts@pattishall.com

Louis Alex
Cook Alex Ltd.
200 W. Adams Street, Suite 2850
Chicago, IL 60606
312-236-8500
lalex@cookalex.com

 

Corporate

 

 

Plans meetings and presentations on topics of interest to IP attorneys working in corporate law departments. Members of this committee are limited to corporate practitioners.

Mary Schnurr
Ardagh Metal Beverage USA Inc.
8770 W. Bryn Mawr Avenue
Chicago, IL 60631
773-399-3604
mary.schnurr@ardaghgroup.com

George Jonas
BP America, Inc.
150 W. Warrenville Road, MC 200-1W
Naperville, IL 60563
832-619-4248
george.jonas@bp.com

 

Council of Past Presidents

 

 

 

Edward Manzo
Husch Blackwell LLP
120 S. Riverside Plaza, Suite 2200
Chicago, IL  60606
312-526-1535
edward.manzo@huschblackwell.com

Patrick Burns
Greer, Burns & Crain, Ltd.
300 S. Wacker Drive, Suite 2500
Chicago, IL  60606
312-360-0080
pburns@gbclaw.net

Creator of the Year

 

 

Solicits nominations for an award presented to a person or organization for a significant or unique creating in any aspect of IP.

Vangelis Economou
Director, Patent Clinic
The John Marshall Law School
315 S. Plymouth Court
Suite 110
Chicago, IL  60604
van@economouIP.com

 

Dinner 

 

Plans the IPLAC Annual Dinner in May and the Annual Dinner Honoring the Federal Judiciary.

Janet Pioli
Brinks Gilson & Lione
NBC Tower, Suite 3600
455 N. Cityfront Plaza Drive
Chicago, IL 60611
312-321-4725
jpioli@brinksgilson.com

Alisa Simmons
Fitch Even Tabin & Flannery LLP
120 S. LaSalle Street, Suite 1600
Chicago, IL  60603
312-629-7947
asimmons@fitcheven.com

Ethics and Grievances

Per the by-laws, this committee consists of the President, President-Elect, Vice-President, Secretary, and Treasurer.

 

Field Day

 

 

Plans the golf tournament and other events for IPLAC’s Annual Field Day.

Paul Henkelmann
Fitch Even Tabin & Flannery LLP
120 S. LaSalle Street, Suite 1600
Chicago, IL  60603
312-577-7000
Phenkelmann@fitcheven.com

Matthew Hertko
Jones Day
77 W. Wacker Drive, Suite 3500
Chicago, IL  60601
312-269-1581
mhertko@jonesday.com

 

Foundation Liaison

 

Liaises between IPLAC Educational Foundation and IPLAC leadership and Board.

Alisa Simmons
Fitch, Even, Tabin & Flannery
120 S. LaSalle Street, Suite 1600
Chicago, IL 60603
312-629-7947
asimmons@fitcheven.com

 

Historian Records

Assists IPLAC in managing the historical records of the organization.

Joseph Nabor
Fitch Even Tabin & Flannery
120 S. LaSalle Street, Suite 1600
Chicago, IL 60603
312-577-7700
jtnabor@fitcheven.com

Alisa C. Simmons
Fitch Even Tabin & Flannery LLP
120 S. LaSalle Street
Chicago, IL 60603
312-629-7947
asimmons@fitcheven.com

Erin Lothson
Groupon Inc.
600 W. Chicago Avenue
Chicago, IL 60654
312-999-3286
elothson@groupon.com

Judicial Appointments
 
 

Assists IPLAC in promoting IP attorneys for judicial and other governmental openings.

James Conte
Ladas & Parry LLP
224 South Michigan Avenue, Suite 1600
Chicago, IL 60604
312-427-1300
JConte@ladas.net

Meredith (Mimi) Addy
Tabet, DiVito & Rothstein LLC
209 S. LaSalle Street, 7th Floor
Chicago, IL 60604
T:  312-762-9468
MAddy@tdrlawfirm.com

Dr. E. Kate Berezutskaya
Greer, Burns & Crain, Ltd.
300 S. Wacker Dr., Suite 2500
Chicago, IL 60606
312-987-2916
kberezutskaya@gbclaw.net

 

Law School Outreach

 

 

Plans programming for the local law school students.  Promotes camaraderie with the law schools.

Peter DiCola
Northwestern University School of Law
375 E. Chicago Avenue
Chicago, IL 60611

p-dicola@law.northwestern.edu

Ana Santos Rutschman

Jaharis Faculty Fellow in Health Law and Intellectual Property
DePaul University College of Law
312-362-7527
a.rutschman@depaul.edu

Liaison to Saul Lefkowitz Moot Court Competition

 

Coordinates with Midwest Regional planning committee to host moot court competition and recruit volunteer bailiffs.

Brent Hawkins
McDermott Will & Emery
227 W. Monroe Street
Chicago, IL 60606
312-984-7764
bhawkins@mwe.com

Alisa Simmons
Fitch, Even, Tabin & Flannery LLP
120 S. LaSalle Street, Suite 1600
Chicago, IL 60603
312-629-7947
asimmons@fitcheven.com

Litigation

 

 

Plans seminars on issues relating to IP litigation.

James Conte
Ladas & Parry LLP
224 South Michigan Avenue, Suite 1600
Chicago, IL 60604
312-427-1300
JConte@ladas.net

Ken Adamo
Kirkland & Ellis LLP
300 N. LaSalle Street
Chicago, IL 60654
312-862-2671
kenneth.adamo@kirkland.com

Litigation: Amicus Committee

 

Tracks and identifies amicus opportunities and proposes and prepares amicus briefs to be submitted by IPLAC.

Charles Shifley
Banner & Witcoff
Ten S. Wacker Drive
Chicago, IL 60606
312-463-5000
cshifley@bannerwitcoff.com

Meredith (Mimi) Addy
Tabet, DiVito & Rothstein LLC
209 S. LaSalle Street, 7th Floor
Chicago, IL 60604
312-762-9468
MAddy@tdrlawfirm.com

Litigation: Claim Construction Committee

 

 

Prepares annual book and update on recent cases involving claim construction issues.

Edward Manzo
Husch Blackwell LLP
120 S. Riverside Plaza, Suite 2200
Chicago, IL 60606
312-526-1535
edward.manzo@huschblackwell.com

 

Membership

 

 

Develops plans for recruiting and retaining IPLAC members, evaluates applications for membership in IPLAC, and plans a reception for new members and committee chairs.

Tiffany D. Gehrke
Marshall, Gerstein & Borun
233 S. Wacker Drive
Chicago, IL 60606
312-474-6656
tgehrke@marshallip.com

 

Luke Curran
Banner & Witcoff
10 S. Wacker Drive
Chicago, IL 60606
312-474-6656
Luke.s.curran@gmail.com

Eric Maiers
Greenberg Traurig
77 W. Wacker Drive
Chicago, IL 60601
312-456-1036
maierse@gtlaw.com

New Programming / Events

Plans new social events and combined networking and educational programs and events for IPLAC members.

Bryan Leitenberger
Lempia Summerfield Katz LLC
1 N. LaSalle Street
Suite 2900
Chicago, IL  60602
312-854-8367
bleitenberger@lsk-iplaw.com

Clare Frederick
Richards Patent Law P.C.
Willis (Sears) Tower
233 S. Wacker Drive, 84th Floor
Chicago, IL 60606
(312) 283-8555
clare@richardspatentlaw.com

Elizabeth A. Cutri (née Nemo)
Kirkland & Ellis LLP
300 N. LaSalle Street
Chicago, Illinois 60654
Tel:  (312) 862-7160
Fax:  (312) 862-2200
elizabeth.cutri@kirkland.com

 

Newsletter-Public Relations

 

Prepares the IPLAC newsletter for distribution to all members.  Assists the organization in promoting IPLAC programs, events & activities.

Ela Baio
Nixon Peabody LLP
70 W. Madison Street, Suite 3500
Chicago, IL 60602
312-425-8684
ebaio@nixonpeabody.com

 

Paralegal

Plans presentations and meetings on topics of interest to paralegals.  Plans networking and social events for members.

Cindi Schermerhorn
Astellas US LLC
1 Astellas Way
Northbrook, IL  60062
224-205-6318
Cindi.Schermerhorn@Astellas.com

Abby Lenz
Neal & McDevitt
1776 Ash Street
Northfield, IL 60093
847.441.9100
847.441.0911
alenz@nealmcdevitt.com

Louise B. Tennis
Goldberg Kohn
55 E. Monroe Street
Suite 3300
Chicago, IL  60603-5792
ltennis5@hotmail.com

Patents – International

Plans presentations on the patent laws of various countries and/or international treaties.

John S. Paniaguas
Clark Hill PLC
150 N. Michigan Ave.
Suite 2700
Chicago, IL 60601
312-985-5559
johnp@clarkhill.com

 

Patents - U.S.

 

 

Sponsors presentations on changes in U.S. patent law and procedures and regulations at USPTO.  Also recommends to IPLAC leadership and board on whether IPLAC should take action on proposed legislation and regulation.

Jeffrey A. Chelstrom
Honigman Miller Schwartz & Cohn LLP
1 S. Wacker Drive 28th Floor
Chicago, IL  60606
312-701-9300
JChelstrom@honigman.com

Reid Huefner
Irwin IP LLC
1333 Burr Ridge Pkwy Suite 200
Burr Ridge, IL  60527
630-756-3103
rhuefner@kirkland.com

Social Networking

 

Assists IPLAC in using social media as a tool to communicate with our members and other IP practitioners.

Bradley M. Taub
Nixon Peabody
70 W. Madison Street
Suite 3500
Chicago, IL 60602
312-425-8563
btaub@nixonpeabody.com

Vangelis Economou
Director, Patent Clinic

The John Marshall Law School
315 S. Plymouth Court
Suite 110
Chicago, IL  60604
van@economouIP.com

Symposium

Plans and sponsors annual patent seminar on developments in patent law.

Patrick Burns
Greer, Burns & Crain, Ltd.
300 S. Wacker Drive, Suite 2500
Chicago, IL 60606
312-360-0080
pburns@gbclaw.net

Dominick Zanfardino
Brinks Gilson & Lione
NBC Tower, Suite 3600
455 N. Cityfront Plaza Drive
Chicago, IL 60611
312-321-4287
dzanfardino@brinksgilson.com

Janet Garetto
Nixon Peabody LLP
70 W. Madison Street, Suite 3500
Chicago, IL 6060
312-425-8514
jgaretto@nixonpeabody.com

 

Trade Secrets & Unfair Competition

 

 

Sponsors an annual in-depth seminar on new developments in trade secret and unfair competition.

Sherry Rollo
Hahn Loeser
125 S. Wacker Drive,
Suite 2900
Chicago, Illinois 60606
312-637-3020
SRollo@hahnlaw.com

Jessica (Godell) Bahr
Constellation Brands
1 S. Dearborn Street, Suite 1700
Chicago, IL 60603
312-873-9237
Jessica.Bahr@cbrands.com

Trademarks & Anti-Counterfeiting

 

 

Plans and hosts presentations on changes in U.S. trademark law and procedures and regulations at USPTO.  Also recommends to IPLAC leadership and board on whether IPLAC should take action on proposed legislation and regulation.

Anna King
Banner & Witcoff, Ltd
10 S. Wacker Drive
Suite 3000
Chicago, IL 60606-7407
(312) 463-5000
aking@bannerwitcoff.com

 

Melaina Jobs
Loeb & Loeb
321 N. Clark Street, Suite 2300
Chicago, IL  60654
312-464-3139
mjobs@loeb.com

 

Website

 

Assists the organization in maintaining the IPLAC website (www.IPLAC.org), emailing communications to membership, and planning website improvements.

Marc Trachtenberg
Greenberg Traurig, LLP
77 W. Wacker Drive, Suite 3100
Chicago, IL 60601
312-456-1020
trachtenbergm@gtlaw.com

Cindi Schermerhorn
AkzoNobel Inc.
525 W. Van Buren Street
Chicago, IL  60607-3835
312-544-6906
Cindi.schermerhorn@akzonobel.com

Women in IP

 

 

Plans and hosts programs and meetings of interest to women IP practitioners.  Hosts annual judicial panel and progressive networking dinner.

Kate Dennis Nye
Neal Gerber Eisenberg
2 N. LaSalle Street
Suite 1700
Chicago, IL  60602
312-827-1455
knye@ngelaw.com

Jessica (Godell) Bahr
Constellation Brands, Inc.
1 S. Dearborn Street
Suite 1700
Chicago, IL  60603
312-873-9237
Jessica.Bahr@cbrands.com

 

Young Members

 

 

Plans networking and social events targeted to younger (and young at heart) members.

Joseph (Joe) Janas
Foley & Lardner LLP
321 N. Clark Street
Suite 2800
Chicago, IL  60654
312-832-5171
jjanas@foley.com

 

Wasim Bleibel
Locke Lord LLP
111 S. Wacker Drive
Chicago, IL  60606
312-443-0638
wbleibel@lockelord.com

Ryan Schermerhorn
Marshall, Gerstein and Borun LLP
233 South Wacker Drive
6300 Willis Tower
Chicago, IL, 60606-6357
T:  312.423.3441
rschermerhorn@marshallip.com