The Intellectual Property Law Association of Chicago (IPLAC) solicits nominations for its 2020 Creator of the Year Award.  The Award honors those who have made a significant creative contribution in one or more of the substantive areas protected by intellectual property law.   Achievements that could form the basis for a nomination include:

  • In the area of patent law:  An invention or group of inventions having technological significance and an important social and economic impact, resulting in one or more issued U.S. patents.

  • In the area of trademark law:  A powerful branding program that combines a strong trademark or service mark, preferably registered, and a memorable advertising and marketing campaign.

  • In the area of copyright law:  An important and original work of authorship, in the literary, musical, visual, dramatic or other arts, preferably covered by a U.S. copyright registration.
There is no time limit for the nominee’s creative work underlying the nomination.  Nominees may include individuals as well as groups of individuals and corporations, and need not be the current owner of the corresponding intellectual property right.  Most or all of the creative activity must have occurred in the Chicago metropolitan area.   Selections will be made by IPLAC’s Board of Directors upon recommendation of IPLAC’s Creative Achievement Award committee.
The winner or winners will be honored at IPLAC’s annual meeting in May 2020, and will be presented with a plaque in recognition of the award.

Any individual or organization may submit nominations for the Creator of the Year Award.  Nominations must be received by a date to be set probably March 1, 2020.  Nomination forms and additional information are available HERE.

2019 Creator Dr. Nick Holonyak.pdf

2018 Creator Dale N. Gerding M.D.
 2018 Creator

2017 Creator James McCambridge
 2017 Creator

2016 Creator John Nix
 2016 Creator

2015 Creator Lawrence M. Kaplan
 2015 Creator

2014 Creator Douglas U. Mennie
2014 Creator

2013 Creator Gregory B. Olson Sc.D.
2013 Creator

2012 Creator Scott Turow
2012 Creator

2011 Creator Kraft Foods
2011 Creator

2010 Creator Richard EJ. Ernst
2010 Creator

2007 Creator Wm. Wrigley Jr. Company

2007 Creator